It’s Not Always How You Start But How You Finish The Race.

1 Jul

Eka Pāda Ūrdhva Dhanurāsana
Half the year is in your rear-view and so are your underachieved or abandoned New Year’s Resolutions. Welp, there goes your dreams and aspersions of flat abs, bigger bank account and a better outlook on life…or not?!

You may have been slacking thus far or haven’t quite met that goal weight but there is still time to jiggly your fat ass into shape. Not just your gut but those other pillars in your life; family, romance, fiances and career & spiritual.

Whatever you haven’t done but want to do before the year is out in the efforts of becoming a better you and successfully embarking on a heather lifestyle, there is more than of enough time to quit living your life like a sloth.

The energy you’ve spent putting things off can now go into actually getting it done.

First, stop comparing your failed triumphs to others’ successes, especially if you haven’t a clue to their struggle or course of action. Secondly, stop crying over spilled milk; so what you’re still fat and broke! That doesn’t mean you have to continue on that path- EFFORT is key. Lastly, cut out all the excuses, distracting side affairs and unconducive people. You are the only one living your life therefore you are the only responsible for the happenings that take place in it. You get what you put in but to put in work you have to get up.

Whenever I’m beating myself up about all the things I haven’t finished or procrastinating about, I weight all the dealings I have productively and successfully completed and turn those winnings into fuel to get started on events and ventures to complete as I move fourth in my road to prosperity.

It’s okay to use others as motivation but is destructive to use others to scrutinize yourself. I may not have done everything I’ve planned to do this year but I know I’m a better more successful person than I was last year.

“NO MATTER HOW SLOW YOU GO, YOU ARE STILL LAPPING THE PEOPLE ON THE COUCH.”

Start your race today!

#WOOTD Top; Nike Miler Running Singlet, a day-glow shirt that I don’t get tired of wearing. Compression Tights; Nike Pro Hypercool, I bought these two years ago but hardly wear because they are a bit to bright for yoga class but perfect for night running. Shoes; Nike Free 4.0 Flyknit, for sure my favorite shoe obviously. I wear these to work, around town and yoga.

The Cook Sabotaged My Diet: Balmain SS16 #PFW

29 Jun

balmain-ss16

The craftsmanship alone should make us all fast in prayer to Skinny-Jesus for such a subprime blessing!

The Paris-label’s first ever men’s runway show did more than delivery; it severed, stuffed us and sent us back to the gym for some extra bench-presses.

Balmain‘s creative director Olivier Rousteing showcased a plethora of “toy soldiers” or militarism inspired luxury sexy garments. Structure and military themes have always gone hand in hand in previous collections from the designer, this was no different. Although, this time we got a hint of middle eastern garb included, there were a buffet of paratrooper pants, structured jackets and boot-sandal hybrids. Rousteing also, played with knits and macrame to create interesting layers amidst all the lushly fabrication and sometimes embellished designs. The draping/wrapping of the tops are outstanding and the knotting of rope to create the provocative non-body forgiving see-through tops are going to be top of every ostentatious fashion connoisseur next year. I can see even rappers getting in on the utilitarian guild.

Though this collection give me more fall than spring/summer it still manage to be strong, sexy and gaudy similar to Versace but with amazing architectural like tailoring.

Binging!: Dries Van Noten SS16 #PFW

29 Jun

Dries Van Noten SS16

I had a rather productive weekend, as well as a rather flush Monday. Now I’m here being out on the the last two day of Paris Fashion Week: Men Spring/Summer 2016. Though, I’ve seen some brilliant pieces from the Parisian shows, I’ve yet to see a plethora of full, consistent, well curated and innovative collections.

I love when fashion week overwhelm me with thinspo to want to revamp my look and get me out of these gym clothes. However, there were some great trends happening on the runway and interesting muses for menswear.

Such as, Dries Van Noten‘s SS16 collection. Using Marilyn Monroeand Salvador Dali as muses for the Belgian designer. The busty Hollywood icon was emblazoned on suits, shorts and knits that signature smile and mole. Also seen throughout the collection was a lobster, in red or sequined on a suit, references Dali’s surrealistic creations. In true Dries Van Noten fashion the show consisted of; animal prints, luxury and a bit of dandyism.

A huge trend on the runway this year is loose and fluid tailoring, like the robes that fluttered in the wind as wiry models paraded down the runway. The tops are my motivation, the tee, billowy dress shirts and form fitting jumpers are sexy, classic and versatile.

Dries Van Noten gets it right every season so no wonder I liked it. I should of named this post “Comfort Food.”

Eat Your Veggies: Stella Jean SS16 #PFW

25 Jun

Stella Jean SS16

Here’s the thing… I love clothing, I really do but this time of year I hate putting them on, kind of like fruits and leafy greens. Per every celeb nutritionist and Instagram fitness trainer, we must consume them for the greater good of our summer physique.

Every once in a while there comes a collection this is good for you and you look great in.

Stella Jean offered a playful and healthy Spring/Summer 2016 collection. This collection is sleek but effortless while maintaining it’s summer fun theme. Lightweight clothing is what I look for during my summer shopping, then simple cuts followed by great colors to compliment my skin.

Stella Jean has a healthy dose of it all. Shirts were printed with images of various fruits and vegetables from pomegranates to bananas to kale. Meanwhile, silhouettes were relaxed and casual, with nary a tie to be seen which highlighted the desire of today’s man to be more nonchalant and less rigid their tailoring needs.

This collection has a coolness factor to it that manages to be sexy without being boastful. Match and miss-matching prints is the prefect way to take attention away from your body and put it on your style. However, to pull of these shorts you’re going to need legs like these model, so eat your veggies and do you lunges.

Menu Prestige: Paris Fashion Week Spring/Summer 2016 Schedule

23 Jun

Valentino ss15
Wednesday, June 24, 2015

10:00 CET / 4:00am EST – Lucien Pellat Finet

12:30 CET / 6:30am EST – STRATEAS.CARLUCCI

14:30 CET / 8:30am EST – Lemaire

15:30 CET / 9:30am EST – Y/Project

16:30 CET / 10:30am EST – Walter Van Beirendonck

17:30 CET / 11:30am EST – Valentino

18:30 CET / 12:30pm EST – Haider Ackermann

20:30 CET / 2:30pm EST – Raf Simons

Thursday, June 25, 2015

9:30 CET / 3:30am EST – 3.1 Phillip Lim

10:30 CET / 4:30am EST – Issey Miyake

11:30 CET / 5:30am EST – Kolor

12:30 CET / 6:30am EST – Rick Owens

13:30 CET / 7:30am EST – Andrea Crews

14:30 CET / 8:30am EST – Louis Vuitton

15:30 CET / 930am EST – Boris Bidjan Saberi

16:30 CET / 10:30am EST – Julien David

17:30 CET / 11:30am EST – Yohji Yamamoto

19:00 CET / 1:00pm EST – Dries Van Noten

20:00 CET / 2:00pm EST – Julius

Friday, June 26, 2015

10:00 CET / 4:00am EST – Junya Watanabe Man

11:00 CET / 5:00am EST – Maison Martin Margiela

12:00 CET / 6:00am EST – Ann Demeulemeester

13:00 CET / 8:00am EST – Juun J

16:00 CET / 10:00am EST – 22/4_Hommes

17:00 CET / 11:00am EST – Comme Des Garçons Homme Plus

18:00 CET / 12:00pm EST – Givenchy

19:00 CET / 1:00pm EST – Henrik Vibskov

20:00 CET / 2:00pm EST – Berluti

Saturday, June 27, 2015

10:00 CET / 4:00am EST – Kenzo

11:00 CET / 5:00am EST – Sacai Man

12:00 CET / 6:00am EST – Songzio

13:00 CET / 7:00am EST – Études Studio

15:00 CET / 9:00pm EST – Dior Homme

16:00 CET / 10:00am EST – Wooyoungmi

17:00 CET / 11:00am EST – Balmain

18:00 CET / 12:00pm EST – Cifonelli

20:00 CET / 2:00pm EST – Hermès

21:00 CET / 3:00pm EST – AMI Alexandre Mattiussi

Sunday, June 28, 2015

10:00 CET / 4:00am EST – Officine Generale

11:00 CET / 5:00am EST – Lanvin

12:00 CET / 6:00am EST – agnès b.

13:00 CET / 7:00am EST – No Editions

14:00 CET / 8:00am EST – Rynshu

15:00 CET / 9:00am EST – Hood by Air

17:00 CET / 11:00am EST – Umit Benan

16:00 CET / 12:00pm EST – Paul Smith

18:00 CET / 12:00pm EST – Thom Browne

20:00 CET / 2:00pm EST – Saint Laurent

Smorgasbord: Dsquared2 SS16 #MFW

23 Jun

Dsquared2

For about three seasons now, though I’ve been drooling and gnawing over every smashing collection I’ve been asking DSquared2 creators/designers Dean & Dan Caten for a new direction. Not something complete different from what we have come to love of the Canadian duo but more than the usual of vibrant colors, baggy cropped denim, sex and mix of Canadian outdoors & American western culture. However, this time they gave me a smorgasbord.

This surf themed Spring/Summer 2016 collection had a plethora of layers, from Native American patterned ponchos, gigantic over-sized pants over running tights to layered mesh razor tanks and the most notable (kind of tired but I get it) layer: tattoo bodysuits. Denim being their staple and money maker there was plenty to choose from ranging from supersized and baggy to cowboy inspired. Their collection have a very grunge Malibu or Venice beach surfer’s vagabond ambiance to it. Sporty, utilitarian, edgy, messy but cool.

As I exclaim in every post I write about the twins, they know how to entertain. The flamboyant gimmicky show may have grown a little stale on some lovers of the brand nevertheless, nice to see. There is plenty of edgy, current mode and creativity here but these looks can be easy duplicated for much cheaper alternatives from Asos to Urban Outfitters. A Dsquared2 label or the dream to look as smoldering as the models can only go so far for so long.

But right now I’m in total love with the traveler theme of this collection. Everything I want in my summer active-wear, if you are looking for refinement and streamline tailoring veer Neil Berrett’s SS16 collection.

Summer is very much traveling, fun, skin, color, ventilation and style. A “free” collection.

“Junk Food Journals:” Entry 16

22 Jun

“Now I lay me down to sleep I pray to Skinny-Jesus my fat to keep, If should gain anymore weight I pay the for a large lump-sum of money for lipo to take!” -BougieHippie

Use these definitely #MCM picks as ‘thinspo’ for your upcoming workout week. The first day of summer we need extra motivation to keep it lean and mean while we eat clean.

Junk Food Journals: Entry 16 has some easy straight to the point diet and fitness tips that’s sure to get us right by Fourth of July!

Terrell Oglesby  (1)

Terrell Oglesby  (2)

Terrell Oglesby  (3)
Hi, my name is Mar’QuezTerrell (IG:@mterrell_) and I am 20 years old and I reside in Warrenton, VA. Working out has helped me mentally, physically and emotionally. I’m thrilled to share some of tips with you all.

Workout Philosophy: Make your body the sexiest outfit that you own.

Breakfast: I usually have eggs (scrambled or boiled), oatmeal with fresh fruits sliced, protein pancakes and go lean cereal with organic milk and fruit smoothies. I have a cup of my teami blends skinny tea every morning to get my body energized and to boost my metabolism.

Lunch: I would have chicken, brown rice and grilled asparagus.

Dinner: Dinner would be the same as lunch. Chicken, fish, steak for protein. Brown rice or white rice for my grains. Broccoli, asparagus and mixed vegetables for my daily supply of vitamins.

Cheat Day: 12 count nugget meal from Chick-fil-A.

Diet Trick: There is really no trick to dieting. You just have to be really consistent with what you intake for the best results.

Problem Area: Shoulders. Because I have had a dislocated shoulder, it’s hard for me to construct certain movements. I’m such a baby when it comes to shoulders. Lol

Key to Discipline: You have to have a goal. You have to know that you will and can do. Never give up and keep pushing!

Workout Routine: I workout 4 times a week: Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays. I try to target the “BIG 3″ (chest, back and legs) on MWF and on Saturdays I do a full body toning workout.

Thomas Tekno
Thomas Tekno (1)
Thomas Tekno (2)
Hi everyone out there my name is Thomas Tekno, (FB:@ThomasTekno) I’m 21, I reside in Milwaukee WI. My hobbies include yoga, work, socializing, helping others in need and stalking Kendrick Lamar. Somewhat true… lol but honestly my interest in fitness isn’t to look great or better than anyone. My interest in fitness is to strive for a healthier life.

Workout Philosophy: Don’t train for any special events, train for life. Life is your biggest challenge, train to beat it.

Breakfast: 40g protein shake w/ egg, sausage & bacon sandwich.

Lunch: It depends, because at work during lunch breaks I buy whatever they’re selling & serving lol.

Dinner: 60g protein shake w/ TV dinner.

Cheat Day: Ruffles w/ beef jerky.

Diet Trick: Taking before & after photos.

Problem Area: Legs.

Key to Discipline: Persistence, and just staying focused on the task at hand.

Workout Routine: 5 days a week, for 2 hours.

Ashton Levi (1)
Ashton Levi (1)
Ashton Levi (2)
I’m Ashton (IG:@ashtonlevi) 23 years old, South Carolina bred, FEAR-less, Flamboyant, and Unstoppable!

Workout Philosophy: Never back down. Never give in. Fitness is a lifestyle.

Breakfast: I’m definitely not a morning person or early bird as they say. Quite frankly, I’m a complete BITCH in the morning time. But I do realize the impact that breakfast has on the body therefore I highly encourage people to at least eat something. Me personally, I enjoy a very light meal. I eat a cup of my favorite yogurt, followed by 2 hard boiled eggs, and a banana.

Lunch: Being that I track what I eat, I am required to intake 2,667 calories a day to maintain and ultimately reach my weight goals. Therefore, for lunch I eat heavier. I meal prep on Sundays so that my lunches and dinners for the week are consistent. I usually have 2 pieces of baked fish, with a side of pasta and mixed veggies.

Dinner: To ensure I meat my calorie quota for the day, my dinners are usually filled with high calorie foods. Personal favorites are again pasta, baked chicken, with sweet potatoes or greens. I LOVE
potatoes so I have to be careful by ensuring that whatever I eat is contributing towards muscle gain and
not FAT. I also like salads and stir fry (beef and chicken).

Cheat Day: Usually Sundays.

Diet Trick: To help with the muscle gain I use “Optium Serious Mass” which is a protein that’s strategically designed to help gain muscle mass and weight in general. The serving size is 2 laundry detergent sized scoops of the protein mixed with water or milk. 1 scoop is 625 calories and 2 is 1,250. I only take a scoop at a time. One after a meaningful workout and another after a meal.

Problem Area: being that I was born naturally thin, the only problem area or concern would be how difficult it is to put on weight. Again, the “Optium Serious Mass” is my #1 testimony product for the
gains.

Key To discipline: My ultimate key to my disciplinary routine would be the ultimate goal at hand… That Perfect Hourglass, but yet masculine, chiseled, eye catching, BODY.

Workout Regimen: I isolate the muscle group by working out a specific muscle area a day, ultimately obtaining more results. Monday (Chest day)- Tuesday (Leg day)- Wednesday (Shoulder day)- Thursday (Back Day)- Friday (Arm day)- Saturday (Glute Day).

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,016 other followers

%d bloggers like this: