Archive | Gulp RSS feed for this section

Eat Your Veggies: Stella Jean SS16 #PFW

25 Jun

Stella Jean SS16

Here’s the thing… I love clothing, I really do but this time of year I hate putting them on, kind of like fruits and leafy greens. Per every celeb nutritionist and Instagram fitness trainer, we must consume them for the greater good of our summer physique.

Every once in a while there comes a collection this is good for you and you look great in.

Stella Jean offered a playful and healthy Spring/Summer 2016 collection. This collection is sleek but effortless while maintaining it’s summer fun theme. Lightweight clothing is what I look for during my summer shopping, then simple cuts followed by great colors to compliment my skin.

Stella Jean has a healthy dose of it all. Shirts were printed with images of various fruits and vegetables from pomegranates to bananas to kale. Meanwhile, silhouettes were relaxed and casual, with nary a tie to be seen which highlighted the desire of today’s man to be more nonchalant and less rigid their tailoring needs.

This collection has a coolness factor to it that manages to be sexy without being boastful. Match and miss-matching prints is the prefect way to take attention away from your body and put it on your style. However, to pull of these shorts you’re going to need legs like these model, so eat your veggies and do you lunges.

Advertisements

Menu Prestige: Paris Fashion Week Spring/Summer 2016 Schedule

23 Jun

Valentino ss15
Wednesday, June 24, 2015

10:00 CET / 4:00am EST – Lucien Pellat Finet

12:30 CET / 6:30am EST – STRATEAS.CARLUCCI

14:30 CET / 8:30am EST – Lemaire

15:30 CET / 9:30am EST – Y/Project

16:30 CET / 10:30am EST – Walter Van Beirendonck

17:30 CET / 11:30am EST – Valentino

18:30 CET / 12:30pm EST – Haider Ackermann

20:30 CET / 2:30pm EST – Raf Simons

Thursday, June 25, 2015

9:30 CET / 3:30am EST – 3.1 Phillip Lim

10:30 CET / 4:30am EST – Issey Miyake

11:30 CET / 5:30am EST – Kolor

12:30 CET / 6:30am EST – Rick Owens

13:30 CET / 7:30am EST – Andrea Crews

14:30 CET / 8:30am EST – Louis Vuitton

15:30 CET / 930am EST – Boris Bidjan Saberi

16:30 CET / 10:30am EST – Julien David

17:30 CET / 11:30am EST – Yohji Yamamoto

19:00 CET / 1:00pm EST – Dries Van Noten

20:00 CET / 2:00pm EST – Julius

Friday, June 26, 2015

10:00 CET / 4:00am EST – Junya Watanabe Man

11:00 CET / 5:00am EST – Maison Martin Margiela

12:00 CET / 6:00am EST – Ann Demeulemeester

13:00 CET / 8:00am EST – Juun J

16:00 CET / 10:00am EST – 22/4_Hommes

17:00 CET / 11:00am EST – Comme Des Garçons Homme Plus

18:00 CET / 12:00pm EST – Givenchy

19:00 CET / 1:00pm EST – Henrik Vibskov

20:00 CET / 2:00pm EST – Berluti

Saturday, June 27, 2015

10:00 CET / 4:00am EST – Kenzo

11:00 CET / 5:00am EST – Sacai Man

12:00 CET / 6:00am EST – Songzio

13:00 CET / 7:00am EST – Études Studio

15:00 CET / 9:00pm EST – Dior Homme

16:00 CET / 10:00am EST – Wooyoungmi

17:00 CET / 11:00am EST – Balmain

18:00 CET / 12:00pm EST – Cifonelli

20:00 CET / 2:00pm EST – Hermès

21:00 CET / 3:00pm EST – AMI Alexandre Mattiussi

Sunday, June 28, 2015

10:00 CET / 4:00am EST – Officine Generale

11:00 CET / 5:00am EST – Lanvin

12:00 CET / 6:00am EST – agnès b.

13:00 CET / 7:00am EST – No Editions

14:00 CET / 8:00am EST – Rynshu

15:00 CET / 9:00am EST – Hood by Air

17:00 CET / 11:00am EST – Umit Benan

16:00 CET / 12:00pm EST – Paul Smith

18:00 CET / 12:00pm EST – Thom Browne

20:00 CET / 2:00pm EST – Saint Laurent

Smorgasbord: Dsquared2 SS16 #MFW

23 Jun

Dsquared2

For about three seasons now, though I’ve been drooling and gnawing over every smashing collection I’ve been asking DSquared2 creators/designers Dean & Dan Caten for a new direction. Not something complete different from what we have come to love of the Canadian duo but more than the usual of vibrant colors, baggy cropped denim, sex and mix of Canadian outdoors & American western culture. However, this time they gave me a smorgasbord.

This surf themed Spring/Summer 2016 collection had a plethora of layers, from Native American patterned ponchos, gigantic over-sized pants over running tights to layered mesh razor tanks and the most notable (kind of tired but I get it) layer: tattoo bodysuits. Denim being their staple and money maker there was plenty to choose from ranging from supersized and baggy to cowboy inspired. Their collection have a very grunge Malibu or Venice beach surfer’s vagabond ambiance to it. Sporty, utilitarian, edgy, messy but cool.

As I exclaim in every post I write about the twins, they know how to entertain. The flamboyant gimmicky show may have grown a little stale on some lovers of the brand nevertheless, nice to see. There is plenty of edgy, current mode and creativity here but these looks can be easy duplicated for much cheaper alternatives from Asos to Urban Outfitters. A Dsquared2 label or the dream to look as smoldering as the models can only go so far for so long.

But right now I’m in total love with the traveler theme of this collection. Everything I want in my summer active-wear, if you are looking for refinement and streamline tailoring veer Neil Berrett’s SS16 collection.

Summer is very much traveling, fun, skin, color, ventilation and style. A “free” collection.

Better Than a Crisp Salad: Salvatore Ferragamo SS16 #MFW

22 Jun

Salvatore Ferragamo
A good salad requires fresh moist Artisan lettuce and spinach, snap peas, crunchy red onions, juicy tomatoes and supple cucumbers with the perfect sweet but tangy dressing.

However, the best thing about a salads there’s no one way to make it as long as all the ingredients are crisp, fresh and the flavor melody works in harmony with your taste buds. Just as Massimo Giornetti’s use of skinny ties, boxy double breasted jackets, colorful X-Acto knife cut layered pieces and a prodigious use of fabrics will satisfy and make the skinniest person salivate for more.

Salvatore Ferragamo‘s cool 40’s and 50’s vibe is brought to the present with its sharp sportswear like collection in cool mustard suits, patchwork use of leather, neoprene and Python and a handful of graphic sweaters, like one that spelled out Ferragamo in glittery letters.

What makes this melody of aesthetics works so well together is the tailoring. Each aesthetic (collegiate, business casual and fine suiting) is brought together with it’s easiness. The current theme of fashion right now is comfort, for men. This collection is figure forgiving, cool and effortless.

Some looks can be for everyday or just to mix up your office wear. I love fashion that inspires while giving a reference point.

Filling & refreshing.

Fitness Short Cuts: Calvin Klein SS16 #MFW

22 Jun

Calvin Klein Collection
During my 75 mins hot yoga class as I was trying not to break my neck holding crow pose while swimming in sweat, I realized I have a full body cross-fit workout to do later today and I haven’t even mapped out time to do my daily run. It was then I fully understood why big people are waiting on the overnight get skinny pill.

I like many of you just want to wake up skinny, with invisible love handles and a back of marble. After all, get fit quick is the American way, right?

Italo Zucchelli‘s latest runway show for Calvin Klein Collection exemplify how much we Amercian love the easy route. Americana never looked so clean cut and chic without being confusing or difficult as it do now. Accentuating the already muscled and toned models the easy everyday fabrics of khakis, denim and classic white tees help to create streamlined silhouettes, wide on top and slimmer on the bottom. Which was greatly help with semi flashy textiles and stunning precise craftsmanship cuts. Zucchelli’s genius attempt to reworked an American classic, (stonewashed denim) looked modern and minimalist.

This collection has the imagery of a person who wants to be fashion forward but find themselves being lazy when trying new things therefore, playing it safe.

You can either wait to purchase these looks next year are go out and create them now. Clean looks like this allows you to play with ornate jewelry, shoes, bags and hats, even funky eye wear.

Now, if getting striated thighs were this easy.

Menu Prestige: Milan Spring/Summer 2016 Livestreams

19 Jun

DSquared2
Looking for a real reason to be a couch potato this weekend? Well, then Milan Fashion Week Menswear SS/2016 live-streams should be all the more reasons to either skipped the gym. Or if you’re anything like me (someone who cares about themselves) then, watching taunt-waist-striated-muscled-gorgeous men gallivant in next year’s most opulent fashions should lead you to the gym anyways and away from whatever fat-ass weekend brunch you’ve got planned.

Let these live-streams from Milan and Paris (TBA) be your couture Netflix.

*Reminder* I will be adding more shows as they are confirmed. Bookmark this page to get the latest information on dates, times and links.

Milan

Friday, June 19, 2015

20:00 CET / 2:00 pm ESTDirk Bikkembergs

Saturday, June 20, 2015

9:30 CET / 3:30am EST – Corneliani

10:30 CET / 4:30am EST – Ermenegildo Zegna

14:00 CET / 8:00am EST – Dolce&Gabbana

16:00 CET / 10:00am EST – Jil Sander

18:00 CET / 12:00pm EST – Marni

20:00 CET / 2:00pm EST – Versace

21:00 CET / 3:00pm EST – Philipp Plein

Sunday, June 21, 2015

11:30 CET / 5:30am EST -­ John Richmond

12:30 CET / 6:30am EST – Salvatore Ferragamo

14:00 CET / 7:00am EST – Calvin Klein Collection

15:00 CET / 8:00am EST – Vivienne Westwood

16:00 CET / 9:00am EST -­ Missoni

18:00 CET / 12:00pm EST – Prada

Monday, June 22, 2015

10:30 CET / 4:30am EST – Emporio Armani

11:30 CET / 5:30am EST – Antonio Marras

12:30 CET / 6:30am EST – Gucci

14:00 CET / 8:00am EST -­ Etro

16:00 CET / 10:00am EST – Canali

18:00 CET / 12:00 pm EST – Fendi

Tuesday, June 23, 2015

9:30 CET / 3:30am EST – DSquared2

10:30 CET / 4:30am EST – Giorgio Armani

Skinny Vibes: #LCM Coach

17 Jun

coach ss16

Coach showed their SS16 collection during LCM once again, highlighting not just that they’re an international label but, also hoping to be associated with the joie de vivre that seems to surround all the British labels that show during LCM. It also helps that their head designer, Stuart Vevers, is British.

To describe the SS16 collection in three words; I would go with quality, quirky and with 42 looks- quantity.
Awash with bold animal prints and colorful designs, all seemed rooted in the psychedelic 70s. Staying true to what Coach is known for luxe accessories, this collection included some rather superb leather jackets and shoes that are so on trend with today’s shoe enthusiast male.

The patchwork jackets and furry slippers are my most desired pieces. This collection has a safari feel, that is still ready-to-wear with an overall disheveled vibe. Another collection that shows that its okay if you don’t have it all together, you still can look great even when you’re late. I’m drawn to the comfortable and cool heir this collection puts out.

As a person that is always late, I rely on and love easy simple constructed garments that still have standout aspects about them that don’t cause for much deliberation when styling, pairs well with denim & solids and work well in fitting my body.

The cuts alone will make anyone feel less self-conscious about their body.

%d bloggers like this: